What your acne is telling you!

It’s crazy how in High School I had clearer skin now that I am in college. I’ve always broke out before and during my periods and that was it up until recently. Since I moved to Myrtle Beach I have noticed a huge difference in both my skin and hair. My skin has not been clear, in fact it just keeps getting worse. I have hypothyroidism and psoriasis so my hair naturally is falls out in clumps but since my move it’s been scary how much hair I’ve lost and how knotted it gets!

I am constantly stressed out and it always shows on me from my acne and psoriasis flaring up.  But recently I noticed that I have been breaking out mostly on the right side of my cheeks, my chin and now in the past several days it’s spread on my right jaw line. I have stubborn blackheads and the breakouts are cystic and my pores are clogged and also seem so visible now.

What does it mean? I have been doing my research and I found this:

Via: The Love Vitamin.

Why is that you always tend break out in acne over and over again in the same areas of your face?

Why do you get cystic acne along your chin and jaw, but only blackheads and whiteheads on your forehead? Why do you have acne even though your skin isn’t oily at all? Why are your cheeks a mess, but your T-zone is pristine?

It seems to be that where you get acne on your face, and what type of acne you get can give you some clues about what the root cause of it may be. If you know the root cause, you can treat your acne more effectively.

In this article, I’m going to introduce you to three different resources I’ve come across that relate to this concept. The first one is Chinese face mapping, the second is a chart that Fran from High on Health came up with, and the third is a chart from the acne ebook ‘Diagnose Your Acne‘.

Chinese Face Mapping

Now, in your travels around the internet looking for a cure for your acne, you may have already come across something called Chinese face mapping.

Chinese face mapping is part of their ancient medicine system and is based on years of observation. It brings forth the idea that different parts of your face correspond to specific organs and body systems. So checking out your problem areas could give you some clues to what the underlying imbalances are.

This is an extremely popular concept right now amongst beauty gurus. And it seems like everyone on the internet has already written about it, but of course, all the interpretations seem to be slightly different. I have noticed a trend though, and one that goes best with my experiences. Example: chin and jawline = hormonal acne, forehead = digestion etc.

I will share with you one example of a an acne face map that seems to fit well with this general theme that I’ve noticed. If you’d like more examples to compare and contrast, just google “Chinese Face Mapping” … you’ll come up with plenty!

 

Fran from High on Health’s Analysis

If you’re not familiar with Fran from High on Health, she’s a blogger who has blogged for years about natural acne treatments. She has now moved on and transformed her blog into a spiritual theme, but she’s still got some wicked good resources on acne available.

I found one of her older posts where she describes acne types matched with possible root causes. This is based on her personal experience, research, and from talking to her readers.

Ananda Mahony’s take on the matter

The following information is from the acne ebook Diagnose Your Acne, which is written by Australian naturopath and nutritionist Ananda Mahony. It’s an in depth guide that helps you do exactly what we’re doing in this article – figure out the root cause of your acne so that you can treat it more effectively! (it’s a great book by the way)

 

2 thoughts on “What your acne is telling you!

    1. I thought it was too!! I am glad you enjoyed and even learned something from it. It definitely opened my eyes too with what I am putting inside my body as well! Ahh, the joy of being a woman, huh?!

Leave a Reply

