Met Gala 2013: Punk – Chaos to Couture

jennifer-lopez-290Jennifer Lopez, my fashion icon. She is always on point! She made punk look good, she looks edgy and feminine. She wore a skintight animal-print Michael Kors dress. I love the dress and I like her hair. She went with the theme of the night and she just looked amazing.

 beyonce-290

Beyonce was on fire! She wore an elbow-length glove with a strapless Givenchy by Riccardo Tisci gown with a paisley-print structured bodice and punky black belt and if that wasn’t enough, she wore matching boots. I don’t like it. I want to like it but I can’t. I think I would have liked it just a little bit if it wasn’t for the boots.

sarah-jessica-parker-290

And this is how it is done! My favorite of the night Sarah Jessica Parker killed it. The Philip Treacy mohawk headpiece was everything! She paired it with a Giles Deacon gown. It’s punk, it’s high fashion and fun. I loved how her hair was styled, soft make up and how she made the headpiece the best accessory.

nicole-richie-290

Nicole Richie…I honestly can’t decide on how I feel about this look.She wore a beautiful silver pompadour with an embroidered high-neck custom Topshop gown. I like the wine lips with the dress, the bleached hair is just weird for me. Maybe because I am not used to it, but after all it is the Met Gala and the theme was punk so I don’t hate it but I definitely don’t love it.

anne-hathaway-290

One of my favorites of the night!! Ann Hathaway looked amazing in this Valentino and furry cuffs. I love every single thing about this outfit, she killed it and followed the theme of the night perfectly. Edgy, chic and timeless. This look is definitely one to remember. Just one thing, I would have added red lipstick. I love a black dress with some red lips!

kim-kardashian-290

Kim Kardashian who made her Met Gala debut after being banned from Anna Wintour, snagged an invite from being Kanye West’s date. I have to be honest, the fact that she was attending this event was irritating but what was more annoying to me was the thought of her wearing a beautiful gown and stealing the spotlight. I predicted she was going to wear a black flowy gown with dark lips and big hair and really look beautiful..but I am glad I was SO wrong. I don’t think anyone would have predicted she would wear something like this, so it brought good shock value. She wore a costume Givenchy by Riccardo Tisci floral turtleneck gown with grommet hardware and a high slit  with matching gloves. I think she knew exactly what she was doing by wearing this dress. It was so ugly and there is no way she felt good wearing it and it clearly made it to the worst dressed list, but everyone is talking about her, just like how she likes it. She made a big statement and she looked like a floral couch AND a plotting plant!

taylor-swift-290

Taylor Swift swiftly brought her annoying self to the red carpet…she actually looked good! So different compared to how boring and typical she always looks. She wore a J. Mendel dress with sheer panels and black lace. I don’t care for the dress but I loved the make up and hair on her. She looks her age and the look was appropriate and refreshing on her.

jennifer-lawrence-290

Jennifer Lawrence…yes, yes and yes. The actress stunned in a tea-length, navy Dior gown, a Jennifer Behr mini veil and Brian Atwood heels. Love this look on her, so edgy and feminine. Love the make up and the veil was everything. Only thing, I would have done different was the heels and I would have added bracelets or small emerald earrings.

cameron-diaz-290

Cameron Diaz in a purple Stella McCartney gown with a floor length cape with a gold spiked belt. Loved it! Love the cape and the spiked belt added a chic twist.

kristen-stewart-290

Kristin Stewart in Stella McCartney marron jumpsuit. I loved it!!!!! Love the laced one piece and red smokey make up. She was rockin’ it!

katy-perry-290

I LOVE THIS!  She kind of looked like Joan of Arc and I just love it. She wore a beautiful jewel encrusted Dolce & Gabbana midi gown paired with a gold crown and statement earrings. I love this look so much – the hair, the make up, the crown, those beautiful earrings…she just looked royally beautiful. To me, it’s fashion at its finest. It went with the theme of the night and only she can pull this off. Again, with heels that doesn’t go with the dress! I would have paired simple nude pumps. The gold crown was just a big moment.

Chloe-Sevigny-290

Chloe Sevigny went with a long sleeved Proenza Schouler gown with a cutout along the shoulder and a head wrap. I love this look!! I have always loved headpieces and I am glad they are making a huge statement this season. I love how she wore a head wrap with a beautiful gown, it gave it such an edgy twist and from head to toe she looked divine.

sienna-miller-290

Sienna Miller…I like it! I love the crystal embellished studded cropped biker jacket by Burburry. I love a leather jacket with a gown, I was surprised we didn’t see more of that on the red carpet. This was a good example of what the night was about – a theme and fashion. It was the perfect punk/feminine combo.

jessica-biel-290

Jessica Beil-Timberlake, in a black Giambattista Valli macramé and tulle gown with matching pants. I really love everything about t his gown. She is a huge red carpet favorite of mine and she is always on it. I love how sleek her hair is styled back. Just a few things that bothered me! The patent leather pointy heels was a major flop and she needed a statement accessory piece! Whether it be earrings or a necklace, as beautiful as the gown was it made it look boring without some color or something that popped. I also would have done a dark maroon color on the lips.

diane-kruger-290

Another red carpet favorite of mine, Diane Kruger. Beautiful. I love the simplicity of the black laced Chanel gown.

jennifer-morrison-290

Jennifer Morrison. I am such a sucker for anything black, especially mixed with lace! I love this dress so much! It is by Donna Karen. I like the red lipstick and I even like the mohawk, glamour mixed with edge. I don’t like the necklace with it, again I would have done the accessories differently – added a few bracelets and tear drop silver earrings.

 

Leave a Reply

