How to break bad eating habits!

You may be like many, who really want to eat better but just can’t stop from eating the usual junk. Unfortunately, we are creatures of habit and it creates a mental and emotional conflict when we attempt to do something different. We can rehearse in our minds that we will exchange more organic or healthier ingredients for the ones we currently use; but just like clockwork we purchase the same foods from the grocery store. You may think that you just can’t help it. You can! Identify what habits you want to change, figure out whey these habits exist, and figure out how you’ll slowly change your bad eating habits into healthier new ones.

I eat junk not real food! It’s hard to stop eating bad especially when they taste so good. It’s also addicting, you tell yourself you will not eat the bad stuff that is in front of you, you will not buy the bag of chips that’s staring at you in the aisle at the grocery store but you end up doing it and feel guilty about it. It’s a loose loose situation! A lot of people like myself also turn to junk food for comfort when they get depressed. But it really is mind over matter, you have to force yourself to eat healthy and after a while you get used to it. My favorite light meal are salads because you can have anything you want on it – shrimp, chicken, veggies and so on without consuming as much as calories as you would if you had a chicken sandwich.

I have a horrible relationship with food. When I eat, it’s not healthy and I hate myself for eating. When I do eat healthy, it doesn’t last last and I get mad at myself for ruining it. I gained 32 pounds in the last two years due to depression and letting myself go. Getting back in shape is hard when you are so negative and harsh on yourself. Peoples negatives comments about your weight gain should motivate you but for me it makes me eat more because of how down I am and I’ve become a closet eater. I force myself to starve and deprive myself of food that after a while I binge. I don’t eat three meals a day, I can’t eat breakfast. I eat out a lot and at work I sit 8 hours a day. I exercise and I do so good for weeks and I feel great about myself and then I stop going. I also have Thyroid which makes things worse. When people loose weight you hear them say portion control, eating healthy and exercising..can it be that simple? I think it is, you just have to push yourself and really want it and stop complaining.

Here are just a few suggestions to get you eating more healthy:

– Start each day with breakfast. This will stop excessive hunger as well as get your metabolism kicked in high gear.

– Teach yourself to eat when you’re really hungry and stop when you’re comfortably full

– Reduce your portion sizes or give up second helpings.

– Try lower fat dairy products

– Drink more water and fewer sugary drinks

– Try to grill, bake, roast or poach instead of frying

– Limit your alcohol intake

– Have a nutritious meal or snack every few hours

Flavor your foods with herb, vinegars, mustard’s or lemon instead of fatty sauces.

– Cut off sodas, drinks lots and lots of water.

Leave a Reply

