Artist & Song of the week

Obsessed, obsessed and obsessed with Adele’s music, especially her hit song “Rolling in the Deep.”. Her voice, her lyrics and the way she touches your soul as she sings is just beautiful. I am really loving this song right now, its meaningful and deep.

After listening to the song and watching the music video (I insist everyone watches it, it’s very well done and paints a great image based off the lyrics), this song reminds me of a once beautiful love that has shattered into pieces. The relationship has gone through destruction, turmoil, heated fights, and plenty of hurt and heartache. She laments the loss of their love and how they could have been something amazing because she loved him deeply (“We could’ve had it all”), but somehow he’s hurt her immensely. And now she’s gathering the strength to finally put an end to the madness of their relationship once and for all (“There’s a fire starting in my heart
Reaching a fever pitch and it’s bringing me out the dark”).

[There’s a fire starting in my heart
Reaching a fever pitch, it’s bringing me out the dark
Finally I can see you crystal clear]

She went through a roller-coaster in the relationship and now that it stopped she has time to reflect on it. And as it dawns to her just how much he manipulated her, anger grows in her heart.

[Go ‘head and sell me out and I’ll lay your shit bare
See how I leave with every piece of you
Don’t underestimate the things that I will do]

Now that she understands him, she knows how unpredictable he can be and doesn’t know what to expect from such a person, but warns him to back off; ’cause she’ll knows who and how he is now, and won’t fall for his tricks anymore.

[The scars of your love remind me of us
They keep me thinking that we almost had it all]

He acted as the perfect man, promising a perfect relationship. Once he had her hooked, he slowly and gradually turned into a nightmare. But somehow she still has problems distinguishing who he really is, from the ideal image he posed to be. Or at least, she still associates him with that. We could have had it all, she was in love and wanted a future with him.

[The scars of your love they leave me breathless
I can’t help feeling
We could have had it all]

Even though she sees him “crystal clear”, she is still bitter because she knows that he was perfectly capable of giving her this perfect relationship. However he just choose not to, for whatever sinister reasons he had.

[Rolling in the deep]
I’m not so sure about this part. In my opinion though, it’s a reference to the relationship they had. The verb “rolling” associates, getting down and dirty, getting all into it. And that’s what they both did. She got down and dirty by naively trusting him and allowing him to “hold her heart in his hand”. And he got down and dirty, by indulging his sociopathic games, playing with her feelings out of boredom, without any sense of remorse or guilt or care for her pain.
this is

[You had my heart inside of your hands and you played it to the beat]

He controlled her by playing into her needs. The beat means the beat of her heart. He knew the rhythm she swayed by, and manipulated her by this insight. He controlled her by controlling her heart, by making her feel guilty and so on…

Leave a Reply

