Jessica Simpson…a BILLIONAIRE!

Jessica Simpson’s fashion line is projected to hit $1 billion in retail sales in 2012. And now I finally understand why the world will be coming to an end. Those Mayans were spot on with their prediction. Let’s put this all into perspective, shall we: Ms. Simpson brought in $750 million in sales last year. Michael Kors brought in roughly $750 million in sales last year. What the f*&% is happening?! Jessica Simpson recently sat down with Women’s Wear Daily to discuss fashion and style, and here are a few highlights:

“I didn’t really know I was going to be able to take on the fashion world, but when I was given the opportunity to start a line of shoes, I jumped right on board. Vince Camuto is definitely a role model to me when it comes to making shoes. He just believed in me from ‘Newlyweds’ [her former MTV reality show that ran from August 2003 through March 2005]. He just thought I could relate to the everyday consumer, and that I had it in me to design and wear the product.”
“I really don’t look at myself as just one thing. I’m kind of scattered and like to have my hands in a lot of different projects. It makes me who I am. It’s what defines me. What I wear, what I sing, the songs I write, the projects I choose all have to represent Jessica Simpson. I wouldn’t take certain jobs if they were to take away from the positive role model that the Jessica Simpson Collection has allowed me to establish…because this is my number-one priority.”

“It has a lot of style to it. It’s not your average suit or skirt. It has lots of fun details. We wanted to change things up for the everyday working girl who wants to feel her age. It could be for a girl’s first job, or an internship. She could be in her 20s, 30s, even 40s. My mom would wear it, and she’s over 50.”

“Image is the most important thing about someone’s career and longevity. I want to be around until I’m not around anymore and then some. We’ve been doing this for five years, but it feels like we’re just starting out because there’s always something new to work on, some new endeavor.”

“I love dresses. I love short skirts and showing off my legs. Sometimes I have to try and hide the boobs. I love wearing a suit jacket with a pair of cutoff jean shorts, and a great fun necklace with a T-shirt. I’m pretty simple. My style never gets too complicated. I don’t always like to dress up. I like to have something dressy and mix it with something casual. If it’s sequins, I still think it can go with shorts. In L.A., you always need somewhat of a jacket. It’s chilly at night.”

“In all honesty, I think people really trust me. They trust that the product is going to be great, because they’ve given it a try and it hasn’t failed them. As far as how I’m different, I’m very real with who I am. I don’t take myself too seriously, and I’m very approachable. I want people who wear my clothes to say, ‘Yeah, this is Jessica,’ that I’m their friend and I have invested my time and my energy. I want everybody to feel like themselves in my clothes. I don’t know how other celebrities handle their businesses, but I’m very hands-on and I think you have that personal touch with me, and I think that outreach is very important.”

– She is laughing all the way to the bank. The media can say what they want about her, they do it just to tear her apart, but she is talented and a smart business woman. I’ve always been a fan of her, I’ll just never forgive her for divorcing Nick Lachey but I think we are all getting over it as time is passing and both of them are newly engaged. Her fashion line isn’t bad, her shoe collection is great and what sells the most. She turned lemons into lemonade and kudos to her. I just think it’s sad that not even real fashion designers like Michael Kors hasn’t grossed that much. I always hate when celebrities pretend to be fashion designers by having real designers behind the scenes and they just put their name onto to things but it’s 2011 and this generation is in the shit hole so I am done wasting my brain cells on why people that are famous for sex tapes, reality shows and boning athletes such as Snooki, J.Wow, Kardashians, Lauren Conrad and Evelyn Lozada and more idiots considered “fashion designers”. Kudos to Jessica, womp womp for Kors.

3 thoughts on “Jessica Simpson…a BILLIONAIRE!

  1. I agree with your thoughts here and I certainly love your blog! I’ve bookmarked it so that I can come back & read more in the future. Your post is very interesting. I’ve read your blog for few days now and I trully enjoy your blog. Thank you for your great work!

Leave a Reply

