Quote of the day

Other than hitting the basketball court for the LA Lakers, winning two championship rings, and being known as husband to reality star and entrepreneur Khloe Kardashian, Lamar Odom remains a mystery to most. In his upcoming E! reality series, Khloe & Lamar, we get a peek inside of Lamar’s life, and his marriage which began 30 days after meeting her. (They met on August 27, 2009 and married Sept 27, 2009).

In the upcoming episode, that airs this Sunday, Lamar’s father keeps calling and Lamar eventually gets transparent with the world, and shares his past about having a mother who passed away at a young age, as well as a father who was addicted to heroin. He explains,

“Our relationship is completely different from the normal father/son relationship. My father’s a heroin addict. I was six-years-old when my parents split up. I grew up with my mother and my grandmother. We lived in Queens in a rough neighborhood. I had my mother around until I was 12-years-old, she passed away. After that my father wasn’t around.

“I’ve witnessed things that a 10-year-old definitely wasn’t supposed to see. My father is somebody I’d do anything for, but yet I still won’t let get too close. It’s hard for me to really speak upon it and get through to Khloe because she grew up so different.”

Later in the episode, that airs this Sunday, Lamar’s father Joe pops up unannounced at Khloe’s book signing, which leaves Lamar feeling embarrassed.

“Besides being embarrassed, it makes me a little uneasy.””I’m not asking him to be my father, I’m asking him to act like you’re my father. Joe had demons, battles he had to overcome. He lost time. There are some people who lay down to take a nap at 2 they wake up at 5 in the afternoon. When Joe woke up 15, 16, 17 years had passed and I was already a grown man.”

Although, he chooses to keep his father at a distance, Khloe reveals that Lamar still supports his father by making sure that his rent is paid. He also gives him a monthly allowance, however when she starts to press him about building a relationship, Lamar tells her “When it comes to Joe, just do me a favor, and do what I say“.

I can’t believe he financially supports his father and his family! Shows you what a great man he is, most people would be to hurt and angry at their fathers to do anything for them. Lamar has two kids (9 and 11) from a previous 12 year relationship (they live in NY with their mother). They also had a son in 2006  named Jayden that died 6 months later from Sudden Death Syndrome. His grandmother that raised him also passed away a few years go. He has had a tough journey, he has a good reputation in the NBA and is very respected and liked. They come from two completely different worlds but maybe that is why the work, she gives him a home, stability and has family roots that he never had. I am sure he teaches her many lessons in life that she never dealt with and she always says he makes her feel beautiful when the world tells her she isn’t, that she is “fat” and comparing her to her sisters and still dealing with loosing her father in 2003. It kind of makes sense now why he was so eager and ready to settle down so quickly, he saw how family oriented she is and being around the close knit kardashian/jenner family I am sure made him realize how he has longed for stability his whole life and he saw that and more in the most favorite Kardashian.

Two comments I read that stuck out to me, where I agree 100%:

“I will watch the first episode of Khloe and Lamar. I used to like Kim but she has changed soooo much and she seems so phony to me. Khloe has always been real and genuine. I just hope it is not overly scripted like Kourtney and Kim Take NYC was, that was so scripted and staged it was ridiculous.”

“I feel for him and his pain behind his father’s addiction and absence in his life but Mr Odoms still gets MAJOR side eye from me due to his lack of involvement in his own children’s lives. Stop focusing on your own pain and build the relationship with your children that you did not have with your dad. Cause real talk…you creating same kind of pain in your own children’s lives right now.” Realizet


Also they recently celebrated their one year anniversay and Lamar surpised her with a vow renewal and she wrote this on her blog that I thought was so sweet!:

“A year ago today I married my best friend. I am so excited to be celebrating our one year anniversary!!! I feel like sooooo much has happened in just one year. My life has changed so much, and I as a person have changed even more. I have never been happier, never been so at peace, never been so in love. I am a better person because of Lamar. I feel like I truly discovered myself the moment I met Lamar. 365 days have passed since we got married and each and every one of those days my husband has been the first thing I think of when I wake up, and the last thing before I go to sleep. I truly wish this kind of happiness upon everyone, I feel so blessed.”

Leave a Reply

