Poem of the day

“I Needed You”

Told that I’m supposed to fail,
I wouldn’t amount to much of nothin’.
Yes I pray, there was days,
I wondered if you really loved me.
“But baby you feel pain.”
Mama would say when I felt like runnin’ away.
I couldn’t take it.
I Soon hit ten, angry with all of the world.
I couldn’t keep friends, just wishin’ you’d come back and see,
My difficult times being an adolescent.
And like so many just like me, without a shoulder to lean.

I needed you
When I needed a father figure.
I needed you
To stop me from makin’ a wrong decision.
At seventeen, when the cold of the world had my back up against the wall.

I need, I needed you.
I need, I needed you.

I needed you
When I needed a father figure.
I needed you
To stop me from makin’ the wrong decisions.
At seventeen, when the cold of the world had my back up against the wall.
When temptation was calling me, didn’t know which way to go.
I needed you.
I need, I needed you.
I needed you.
I need, I need you.
Seventeen, when the cold of the world had my back up against the wall.
When temptation was calling me, didn’t know which way to go.

Mama had no financial help
And thoughts of breakin’ the law came.
Seen her tryna hold down two jobs,
Was tearin’ up on me had a way (had a way).
All my friends was gettin’ in it
It came time for me to get that dough.
Wrong or right I had to go for what I know.

Lord I pray. Give me strength to forgive them and not all the I hate I got.
Even though the pain of this was too heavy. Lord I pray.
Show me all brothers growin’ up without a father had a turn with a day adolescent to a legacy.
Lord I pray.

From the knowledge I ain’t get,
God you gave me.
And temptation was callin’ me, didn’t know which way to go.

I needed you
When I needed a father figure.
I needed you.

The song was written by Chris Brown a few years ago but it was never on any of his albums. It’s pretty obvious what the song means. Sadly, a lot of people can relate to it. I think this song is good for young boys to listen to, girls are always more outspoken on how they are feeling. Boys tend to block it and hurt themselves by making the wrong decisions while they are hurting inside. Brown’s mother later re-married after his father left them and married someone abusive towards her and Chris. He has said, “he made me terrified all the time, terrified like I had to pee on myself. I remember one night he made her nose bleed. I was crying and thinking, ‘I’m just gonna go crazy on him one day….’ I hate him to this day.” Mental experts have stated that it’s not uncommon for victims of abuse to have repetition compulsion as a means of dealing with buried emotions caused by the earlier abuse.

 

 

Leave a Reply

