Chris Brown: Let the man live!

Via People.com:
“Chris Brown upset he can’t move on from his past”
Chris Brown‘s latest album F.A.M.E. may signify a new beginning for him, but the singer can’t seem to avoid questions about pleading guilty to felony assault against ex-girlfriend Rihannaalmost two years ago.

Brown, 21, who lost his temper Tuesday morning after an interview on Good Morning America with Robin Roberts in which she asked about Rihanna, “is upset” by what transpired on the show, a source tells PEOPLE.

“He’s been trying to move on from his past and focus on his music, and he’s finally putting out an album,” the source says. “Why can’t we focus on that? He makes great music and he loves his fans. He’s a good kid.” Even before the live GMA segment, another source says rehearsals were “tense,” at one point causing Brown to “flip out” even before his appearance. But his tone shifted later, and Brown took to Twitter to talk up his album and praise his fans. “Thank you to everyone who supports my music!!!” he wrote. “Key Word (music) !!! Love y’all.”

This came in response to an outpouring of support from fans. “The media is just trying to bring you down,” one Brown devotee Tweeted. “DON’T LET THEM!!!!!”

Brown, who continued the promotional rounds and continued Tweeting on Tuesday afternoon, also received Twitter love from fellow hip-hop artists, including Diddy and Keri Hilson.

“Yall go out & get my boy @chrisbrown’s new album ‘F.A.M.E’ in stores TODAAAAY!!!” Brown’s “Superhuman” collaborator Hilson wrote. “His talent is undeniable. I’m proud of you, CB!! Love you!”

“I can understand his frustration, he’s addressed the Rihanna incident and he’s apologized, he’s been asked so many times about it and it’s getting old, he doesn’t want to talk about it. ” Suga says his friend’s reaction came from being pushed to talk about something Chris feels has passed. “He understands that he made a mistake in the past, but revisiting it really makes him angry. It’s not right that he smashed the widow but he did remove himself, and it’s better that he did it to a window than. He could have done this in public, but instead he waited until after the interview.” Suga says the incident with Rihanna is not a subject that is discussed among Brown’s friends because they have moved forward and hope his fans can do the same. “None of his friends talk about that stuff anymore, we don’t talk about it.”

“”If Rihanna is able to get past it, then America should be able to get past it too.
“This entire thing has affected his life drastically.  He had a squeaky clean image before and he has put all his efforts into having a clean image again.  It’s always going to be a touchy subject.
“He’s a regular person who makes mistakes like everybody else, the only difference is he is in the spotlight”

“I’m great, as you can see after the incident you saw me out with my people just trying to enjoy life and enjoy the experience of having my album out. First and foremost, I want to apologize to anybody who was startled in the office, or anybody who was offended or really looked disappointed at my actions because I’m disappointed in the way I acted. A lot of people don’t know what went down. Obviously…when I do shows or when I do interviews, we always send out a ‘talking point’ sheet, and if a network or whoever isn’t compliant with what we want to do so we can equally accomplish a goal, we usually kind of back out and wait until it’s a better situation. When we actually did this event everything was cool, you know, we were supposed to perform, the ‘talking points’ were positivity, creative…you know everything that was sent to me was about the album, that’s what we’re talking about.

So, as the interview proceeded, it was kinda thrown off…I was thrown off by it. I felt like they told us this so they could get us on the show and exploit me. That’s what I thought and I took it very, very hard. I kinda kept my composure throughout the whole interview, although you could see me upset, I kept my composure through my performance. When I got back I just let off…it’s like steam in the back. I didn’t physically hurt anyone. I didn’t try to hurt anyone. I just wanted to release all the anger I had inside me because I felt like I worked so hard for this music and I love my fans and I love to be able to make positive music that I felt like they just kept trying to take it away from me and take it away from me. So, yes I got very emotional and I apologize for acting like that.”

His album is heating up the charts and will be number 1.

Damita Ro’s opinion:

I have always rooted for Chris Brown because I believe it’s never about what it is about and to give second chances. I also believe what he did was indeed wrong but after two years, it’s time to move on. He has apologized a slew of times, he has been working hard to redeem himself through his talent and it has earned him number 1 singles and a Grammy nomination but the media will never back down of trying to bring him down. They aren’t happy for his success, Rihanna’s fans aren’t happy and they will do anything to tear him apart. I also believe that Rihanna’s interview with 20/20 a few months after it happened and she had an album to promote was cold and rehearsed to say all the wrong things about him to make her right and to have her album sell. She had every right to speak out but she could have done it tastefully, she kept bashing him, lied about certain details that transpired the whole incident. I am not blaming her, no woman ever deserves to get hit and no man will ever be justified for abusing a woman, whether it’s physical and emotional.

Rihanna has moved past it and moving on from her life, she is also declining to talk about him and what happened in interviews. It is going to be hard for Chris Brown to ever move past it in the media and most likely personally as much as he is trying to. They are bashing him constantly him but they don’t take a second to think about what he may be going through internally. I am sure he is haunted by what happened, regrets it and wishes he can go back, not just for the sake of his career, his life but for his first true love. He has gone through a lot, so has Rihanna but I am sorry to say but what happened skyrocketed Rihanna’s career and every single person in the industry and the media have sympathy for her now, as they should but it is a double standard. In their eyes she can never do no wrong, she has the world in the palm of her hands but I am pretty sure that it isn’t making her happy.

Brown got a beating by the press, he has done all he can do to win them over but he is starting to care less because he is getting a hard dose of reality: no matter what they do, there’s nothing you can ever do because they’ll never accept you. He has vented on his Twitter, when Walmart wouldn’t carry his last album that eventually didn’t do well because the CDs were limited. He gets ridiculed for feeling how he feels because what he did was horrible, he has apologized, they don’t believe its real, they see him out living his life and being a 20, 21 year old and trying to move to only get slammed for being happy and lacking remorse for his actions. He has a new girlfriend; they say she is getting beaten. He has a number 1 song; they say he doesn’t deserve it. He broke down in tears after paying a tribute to Michael Jackson and seeing how the audience full of his peers were cheering him on he gets blasted for breaking down in tears from feeling overwhelmed and they say it was crocodile tears. His album is now number 1, certain radio stations are starting to play his music again and the media is upset about it. A lot of networks and TV shows don’t welcome him and only discuss him when they are talking badly about him and what he had done.  And now he has a meltdown backstage at GMA. Was he wrong? Only if it is true that he broke the window and giving the media what they have been wanting. He conducted himself well during the interview even when he clearly looked pissed off and taken back. He knows that questions about Rihanna will always follow him, but he hasn’t allowed it. He has declined to go on The View, The Talk and few other shows because the producers compromise without asking questions about the incident. So what would make GMA any different? They probably thought Robin Roberts will get away with asking him questions because he felt comfortable with her after having scored his first TV interview with him at his home two years ago. I think if she would have asked one question, he would have let it slide but she kept pressing it when he clearly was drawing the attention back to his album. They don’t want to talk about his success, only about his downfalls.

He is so young and has gone through so much, personally and professionally. He grew up fast, before the incident he was a beloved famous boy with a wholesome clean image to over night being a man who is a felon. He is trying to move on and he has every right to. Look what the media did to Michael Jackson. They tore him apart and lived his life feeling like they are out to get him and he finally got his praise and peace from the media after he passes away. Lindsay Lohan, gets away with every crime she commits. Charlie Sheen, who is abusive, a drug addict, shot his ex-fiance, threatened his ex-wife to kill her many times and threatened his recent ex-wife with a knife in front of their children yet he gets praised and left alone.  Chris is called a thug but Sheen isn’t? Is it a black and white issue? Who knows but it is unfair.

I think I have said enough. The media will never give him a break, his meltdown in GMA was a lot more to it. In my opinion, he needs better management – his mom is his manager but he needs someone that is far more experienced than his mother and a whole new team working for him. His talent in music, dance and art is undeniable but he needs better representation, a media consultant and a media coach as well as a life coach.  He has a lot of internal demons that he needs to get rid of, to controlling his anger, figuring out where the anger comes from, trust issues, his father abandoning him (listen to his song “I Needed You”) to watching his mother get abused and living in fear and to his traumatic night with Rihanna and to the hate he receives from the media that will never quit tearing him apart before it is too late.

Leave a Reply

