Lady GaGa in MSG

Tonight I’ll be at Madison Square Garden for Lady GaGa! I am not really a big fan of hers, type her name in at the search section to see previous posts I’ve written about her. She only has a select few of good songs but I give credit when credit is due, she is a real artist, writes her own music and isn’t a celebrity who loves the spotlight. She seems to remain humble and genuinely appreciates her fans that she calls ‘monsters’.  I just don’t think her choice of clothing style is “artistic” and should be in the fashion category, like most of the fashion world seems to think. My favorite song of hers so far is Born This Way.  She is this generations Madonna. I see her being around for many many years.

“I actually made a choice to keep my life pretty normal. Some point about two years ago I said to myself, ‘OK, am I going to put my toe in Hollywood’s pond and figure out if I want to live a glamorous life and assimilate to the glamorous lifestyle,’ but I really didn’t want to do it. I still live where I always lived, I still hang out and drink whisky at the same bars. I still go to the same hardware store.” Gaga has said, birth name Stefani Germanotta.

I am excited for tonight. I have been to so many concerts and have seen the best in music for the past 10 years and I am sure tonight will be one to remember. I’ll let you know how it goes!

UPDATE:

Via MTV.com

Feb 22 NEW YORK — “Tonight, in the town where the gays birthed me, you can be free!” Lady Gaga announced at her Monster Ball show Tuesday night at Madison Square Garden.

On this second night in her hometown, Lady Gaga was being filmed by HBO for her concert special that will air in early May. And though it wasn’t her first time playing MSG, she still felt the significance of headlining the venue. “I used to live 20 blocks from here, so I saw all those names go up on the marquis, and I always wanted to see my name up in those lights.

“You made me brave, little monsters,” she informed her squealing fans of all ages, “and New York made me brave.”

Liza Minnelli and Marisa Tomei were both in the audience, and Gaga asked for her monsters to cheer on the two women, who she said greatly influenced her.

“I don’t lip-synch,” Gaga reminded the audience who was already quite aware of that impressive fact, considering all of the heavy dancing mixed with extended high notes. “I’m not going to waste your time watching some bitch lip-synch her way to an HBO special, especially not with Liza watching.” Gaga recently said in an interview that she would want Marisa Tomei, above anyone else, to play her in a movie.

While performing all of her hits from The Fame and The Fame Monster, Gaga took plenty of time to speak to the crowd directly, and her witty banter had the room laughing every moment they weren’t cheering their lungs out.

Someone in the audience held up a bright purple unicorn stuffed animal, and Gaga caught sight of it when flashing her disco stick flashlight around the crowd. “That is the most fabulous gay unicorn I have ever seen,” she remarked, as straight-faced as ever. “The only thing better than a unicorn is a gay unicorn.”

The evening flowed seamlessly from the moment Gaga took the stage with her dark pop tune, “Dance in the Dark,” disguising her dozen or so costume changes with dazzling art videos. The videos often depicted Gaga in a pose or in extreme slow motion, creating the sense of a moving portrait, surrounded by driving club dance beats. Some of the images included tears of blood, neon-green vomit, gothic clothing and bondage attire. The show itself could be an installment at a high-end gallery.

Gaga’s incessant devotion to LGBT rights was in full effect during her two hours on stage. She called a fan in the audience, Jimmy DiPasquale, who had made a generous donation to her LGBT youth fund, to thank him personally. At the end of “Alejandro,” while the beat continued to thump, two of her male backup dancers took the stage and made out passionately as the curtain came down.

As Gaga drove the night toward her two encores of “Bad Romance” and new single “Born This Way,” she looked on the verge of tears and announced, “This is the last of five sold-out shows here, but I hope this song and this record bring us back here next year.”

Set List:
Dance in the Dark
Glitter and Grease
Just Dance
Beautiful, Dirty, Rich
The Fame
LoveGame
Boys Boys Boys
Money Honey
Telephone
Speechless
You and I
So Happy I Could Die
Monster
Teeth
Alejandro
Poker Face
Paparazzi
Bad Romance
Born This Way

– I loved it! She made me a fan of hers last night. I loved her songs a lot of them I never heard that I will be downloading later. The way she captivated the audience and talked about her growing up in the New York, at one point she said “In this town, I can’t believe I made it.”. I loved everything about it, she sang live and her voice was AHHHHMAZZZZING!!!!!! I can’t say enough about it.  She is an iconic entertainer and out of all the concerts I have been too and watching the greatest performers of my generation from Jay Z, Beyonce, Kanye, Alicia Keys and so many more.  Beyonce’s I Am..World Tour has been my all time favorite and now the Monster Ball will be to.  I have a feeling there is something about Lady Gaga’s concert that I will remember forever.

“You know what I hate more than money? I hate the truth. I’d prefer a dose of bull shit any day over the truth.” – GaGa

Leave a Reply

