The Rock is back, rocking Wrestlemania!

“Finally, the Rock has come back to WrestleMania. The most electrifying man in all of entertainment is hosting the most electrifying event in all of entertainment!”

Finally The Rock has come back!! I grew up watching wrestling, it’s the only memory I have with my Father (I don’t use the term, DAD). My father, sister and me used to stay up watching it and even when my father no longer was a part of our lives, my sister and I continued to watch it and think of him. Till a few years ago we stopped because WWE changed a lot, too many new faces and the story lines got old. My sis now watches TNA, where there is a lot of has been wrestlers from WWE and they are trying to be just like WWE with the entertaining story lines. Wrestling will never be what it used to be back in the 1990’s and mid 2000. I used to be obsessed with it, the story lines would just get better and it was entertainment at its best. We used to go MSG and watch the shows live and the only way my mom knew how to punish us was to forbid us from watching TV every Monday and Thursday night when wrestling would be on. From time to time I watch old footage on Youtube and I watch The Rock, Triple H, Stone Cold, Kurt Angle, The Hardy Boyz and Stephanie McMahaon’s greatest and funniest moments and I just truly miss it. But unfortunately nothing can stay the same.

Confession: I used to dream of being one of the WWE divas and I would go with my man The Rock and cheer him on ringside and would come up with story lines in my dreams! LOL!! I loved Trish Stratus I used to think she was the most beautiful woman ever, I wanted to wrestle like Lita and wanted to take her place because she was with The Hardy Boyz. My sister was obsessed with Jeff Hardy, I loved him too. Randy Orton is just gorgeous from head to toe!

(thats Randy Orton ladies)

Okay enough about me, The Rock looked comfortable in the ring and like he never left. He really is an amazing entertainer, he has a knack for it and I can spend hours watching him smack talk and just say the funniest things. And somehow he looks even better than last time we saw him in movies, he gained back his muscles and just damn…he is beautiful. I stopped watching RAW but I saw a trending topic on Twitter of ‘Wrestlemania’ and that they were going to announce who the host was tonight. So I tuned in at the perfect time. I got butterflies seeing The Rock and just remembering my favorite story lines and the times I would watch it with my sister.

And the April 3 match in Atlanta will be his first Wrestlemania since 2004!

“You helped me accomplish my goals, helped me accomplish my dreams because you never lost my side … Thank you, I love you, and it is because of you that I’m back in this ring and it’s because of you, and I give you my word, that I am never, ever, going away,” he told the audience.

“After seven long years … finally The Rock has come back home.” Whether Johnson continues to participate in WWE events or comes to WrestleMania XXVII as a one-time-only thing is unclear.

Many past and present WWE superstars wrote messages on Twitter following The Rock’s return to WWE on RAW. Here’s what the following people said about The Rock:

John Cena:CeNation. Rock was in rare form tonight. It was great to see him enjoying himself out there. Even if it was at my expense. I’ve been Called alot worse. Just glad to see him back in action.”

CM Punk: “Rock owes me fifty bucks for going 20 minutes past the hour, making me miss my valentines day reservations at Nobu.”

Big Show: “Did anyone notice the chill bumps on Rocks arms as he gave his catch phrase? The rock is back!”

Jim Ross: “Got 2 hand it 2 WWE…HBK in HOF, Austin on Tough Enough, Rock to host/star @ WM27…MUCH more on the way. Look out Atlanta!”

Val Venis: “I am just as happy as anyone else the Rock is back. As long as he sticks to the mic, we are good. Cuz his wrestling ability is questionable. Not hating on Rock. He is AWESOME on the mic. His charisma is unmatched. But lets be honest, Rock>Hardy & Venis>Rock! HONESTLY!”

Taz: “GREAT JOB by Rock! Miss having steaks with him & Dud’s after shows!!! Great times! 1 of the greatest of all times!!!”

Chris Jericho: “Congratulations to one of my favorite opponents and greatest rivals on returning to the WWE. The Rock is the BEST promo man of all time…”

Steve Austin: “it was great to see The Rock back on RAW tonight…helluva promo from an electrifying cat. great stuff heading into Mania.”

Former WWE writer Dave Lagana has updated his blog at IWantWrestling.com with his thoughts about Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson’s return to WWE on Monday’s RAW. Lagana wrote:

“Moments that stick with us are genuine. They can be manipulated but can’t be manufactured. Tonight in Anaheim, CA on Monday Night Raw was one of those moments. There were misdirections, there were leads, there were reports. But at 10:58pm Eastern it became a reality. The live reaction let you know immediately what was happening was big. The ripple effect on social media outlets let you know how wide it reached. The Rock had come back to wrestling… Finally.”

He re-tweeted a few messages from fans who were at RAW. One fan wrote:

“Was at RAW tonight. Anticipation was amazing and pop was biggest I’ve been a part of. Been going to WWE shows for 20 years!”

Another fan described Rock’s return as “one of the greatest moments I’ve ever seen in my life.”

Lagana added, “That’s the energy The Rock creates. We’re now on the Road to Wrestlemania knowing that The Rock will be the guest host; including a tease that there will be a confrontation with John Cena. But, tonight was about the people. Rock always called himself “The People’s Champion.” Tonight for fifteen minutes the Rock entertained and electrified the people by giving a performance that should be studied by everyone who aspires to be the best. If you’re a young wrestler, aspiring actor, performer, comedian or simply a person wanting to accomplish anything, watch and study what the Rock did tonight!”

Following Monday’s RAW, The Rock took part in an online chat at the WWE website. Here are some highlights of what the Great One said about:

Why He’s Returning Now: “Because I felt the time was right to so something special. Not only can I feed my own need and desire to perform. More importantly than that, do something special for you WWE fans. ”

HIs Goal For WrestleMania: “My goal is to create an incredible show. The guys have prepared for this night all year and they are going to put on incredible wrestling matches and I am there to not only support their matches but work with the great WWE production team and put on an electrifying show. That means I will be backstage and in the ring creating unforgettable and iconic WrestleMania moments. ”

John Cena: “John Cena said a variety of things that came across my desk which at first I thought was interesting and then I felt was laughable because the comments really didn’t make any sense to me. To be clear, not that they ever make me mad. I just thought the comments were an interesting choice of things to say.

What he talking about is John Cena’s interview last year when he said:

“The truth is that Dwayne Johnson is a great actor and I think always wanted to be an actor, and there’s nothing wrong with that,” Cena said. “It’s like an athlete saying, “Hey, I don’t do drugs,” and then getting busted for drugs. Here’s a guy who said he was WWE through and through, and then the first chance to take a road to a different career path, he took it.” Cena said he believes Johnson is “one of the hardest workers you’ll ever meet,” but he feels Johnson cheapened the credibility of future WWE stars, such as himself. He continued: “It just cheapens that phrase, “Oh, I love this business.” So then next time I come up and say I love this business, well, the guy before me who said that left. That doesn’t look good for me or our business.”
I guess John Cena doesn’t know who The Rock is, his history, and obviously must’ve never watched wrestling when he was on. Cena, When do you think The Rock wanted to be an actor? When he grew up watching his dad and grandfather wrestle? When he was playing college and Canadian football? When he debuted? When he was in the Nation of Domination? When he was headlining WrestleMania? The truth of the matter is that Hollywood called The Rock, not the other way around.  He lucked upon The Mummy Returns, and when everyone praised him, the WWE capitalized on his fame, and developed WWE Films. They then cast him in a starring role in The Scorpion King. Vince McMahon did that Cena, not The Rock. By the time all this happened, The Rock was a champion many times over, had been in the company for five or six years, and was a huge star. He even returned for a few more years, became champion even more times before leaving. Dwayne took a chance other guys would’ve dreamed of having. He left without ever leaving a “what if?” question mark on his resume, and he left healthy, young and able to leave behind one of the biggest stamps on the business that will ever exist.
He also did another interview and he had this to say about The Rock: “He is a genuinely nice guy and a fantastic human being. What I kind of get peeved about, and this is my Achilles heel, is that I’ve wanted to do this my whole life. Rock falls into that category. At one point he loved wrestling and wanted to do this all his life. So explain to me why he can’t come back for our 15th anniversary show or why he can’t make an appearance at WrestleMania. I wish he’d just show up, say hi and leave. Do the eyebrow once and get out of town. Simply put it’s because he wants to be an actor and there’s nothing wrong with that, because he’s truly found another passion. He’s good at acting. His films make money. Associating with sports entertainment doesn’t do much for his acting career. I get it. Just don’t f*** me around and tell me that you love this. That’s the only thing that gets me really p***ed off. Our fan base have so much admiration for him, he’s got to respect that. He doesn’t give anything back.”
Leave a Reply

