American Idol

Do you still or ever watched American Idol? I remember watching it from the beginning, season 1 when Kelly Clarkson was the chosen one. I liked it, it was different then anything we had seen. Of course, I loved Simon! After the second season, I stopped watching.  I would come back to it towards the end for the final three and to see who the winner is. The last two years were the worst. Kara Diguirdi coming on as a judge, in my opinion killed the show. It was four too many. The dynamic changed, Simon did not look interested. It was just weird. Then Paula leaves and it’s just Kara and the boys, now Simon looked miserable to be on the show and with the judges. When Ellen came on, as much as I love her I don’t think it was her place to be there. I actually went to a taping last May and none of the judges interacted with each other, Simon would come out mere seconds before the show aired and would leave during every commercial break. As much as I love him on the show, he made the show what it was and somewhat still is and I just think it was time for him to leave.

Now, season 11 I think they made the right choice with Jennifer Lopez and Steven Tyler. I’ve been obsessed with J.Lo since the beginning of her career and its nice and different to see her in a different way and see more of her. I was surprised by how funny and cool Steven Tyler is. His facial expressions, the funny random things he says is just perfect. Randy seems to take control and not be laid back anymore. The three of them seem to have great chemistry and genuinely like each other. I also like the changes I see on the show so far.

Anyway, last night I found myself crying yet again over a heartbreaking story. People.com couldn’t have said it any better:

Meet Chris Medina: The American Idol contestant’s heartbreak and powerful audition on Wednesday night show in Milwaukee touched the judges and helped earn him a golden ticket to Hollywood.

Medina, 26, told the story of his fiancée, Juliana, who was working at Starbucks when he proposed to her after dating for six years. Two months before they were to tie the knot, she was in an accident that left her with a traumatic brain injury. “Everything changed,” said Medina. “We’re still not married.”

But Medina still cares for his fiancée with her mother.

“I was about to make vows just two months from the accident – through thick and thin, ’til death do us part, for better or worse,” he said. “What kind of guy would I be if I walked out when she needed me the most?”

Medina’s audition – he sang “Breakeven” by The Script – was more than enough to get earn him a ticket to the Hollywood round. But the judges were so taken by Medina’s story they invited Juliana into the studio to meet her.

“I just heard your fiancé sing,” Steven Tyler told Juliana. “He sings to you all the time. I could tell. That’s why he sings so good because he sings to you.”

Later, outside the audition room, Medina, who wears his ring around his neck, leaned over and listened to Juliana whisper something, telling the cameras, “She said, ‘I knew it.’ ”

One thought on “American Idol

  1. merican Idol was created based on the British show Pop Idol, which was in turn inspired by Popstars, a show TV producer Nigel Lythgoe saw in Australia and brought over to Britain. Using the idea from Popstars of employing a panel of judges to select singers in audition, then adding other elements such as telephone voting by the viewing public (which at the time was already in use in shows such as the Eurovision Song *

    Go look at our new blog site as well
    <.http://www.prettygoddess.com/

Leave a Reply

