Poem of the Day

“On Your Own”

You live with a halo round your head,
This time you’re leaving.
This place where the walls are painted red,
Freedom is what you need.

But if the world should ever fall apart around you,
And if you’re lost and barely breathing,
I will find you,
And carry you back home.
I won’t forsake the only love I ever known,
When you’re out there on your own.

Dark clouds they surround you in the sky,
Rain falls when you’re sleeping.
When you’re past the point of no return.
I will take away the hurt.

And if the world should ever fall apart around you,
And if you’re lost and barely breathing,
I will find you,
And carry you back home.
I won’t forsake the only love I ever known,
When you’re out there…..

And I will wait,
However long it takes,
Til you realize what you have been searching for,
Was right here all along.

When you lost the only light you had to guide you,
And you’re cold and barely breathing,
I will find you.
And carry you back home,
I won’t forsake the only love I ever known,
When you’re out there on your own.

And if the world should ever fall apart around you,
And if you’re lost and barely breathing,
I will find you,
And carry you back home.
I won’t forsake the only love I ever known,
When you’re out there on your….

When you’re out there on your own

 

It’s by Nick Lachey from his “What’s Left of Me” album. If you are going through heartbreak, that’s the album to listen to. He penned it after his divorce from Jessica Simpson. If you read all the lyrics to his music, it’s beautiful and very touching. You can even figure out what they went through in the end. You go inside his heart and you can understand how torn apart he was feeling, how he felt the marriage tore apart and truly get a glimpse of the pain he was in. I love every single lyrics and meaning of all his songs on this album, but I’m not crazy about how some of the songs by the way they were sung and produced. I go for the lyrics and meaning of music, and a lot of times that’s a lot better to read than to listen to.

Leave a Reply

