Artist & Song of the week

I love Nickelback! When this song ‘Too Bad’ first came out my parents were going through a divorce. I related to it so much, I used to watch the video all the time, back then – 10 years ago! – we didn’t have Youtube and couldn’t watch music videos when we wanted but MTV used to play 3 hours of music videos in the morning, top ten music videos and they had TRL and I used to wait for this video to play. It felt so real to me, both the meaning of the song and video touched me. I highlighted the paragraph that truly speaks to me and it’s exactly how I felt/still feel about certain situations that were happening in my life.

“Fathers hands were lined with dirt
From long days in the field
And mothers hands are serving meals
In a café on Main Street
With mouths to feed
Just trying to keep clothing on our backs
And all I hear about is
And how it’s so bad, it’s so bad


It’s too bad, it’s stupid
Too late, so wrong, so long
It’s too bad that we had no time to rewind
Let’s walk, let’s talk

You left without saying goodbye
Although I’m sure you tried
You call the house from time to time
To make sure we’re alive
But you weren’t there
Right when I’m needed you the most
And now I dream about it
And how it’s so bad, it’s so bad


Father’s hands are lined with guilt
For tearing us apart
Guess it turned out in the end
Just look at where we are
We made it out, we still got clothing on our backs
And now I scream about it
And how it’s so bad, it’s so bad

Leave a Reply

