Artist & Song of the Week

I haven’t a done a post like this in a while. When I’m not in school I don’t really listen to music, because I normally only listen to my Ipod on the train on the way and back from school. Recently when I traveled to California I had updated it so I can listen but for once I ended up falling asleep through the whole plane ride! So can you believe I didn’t even listen to not one song! Anyway, this week I had to go with ‘Power’ by Kanye West.

Kanye is one of my top 5 favorite artists (includes, Eminem, Jay Z, Drake & T.I). I love his honesty in his music, he is so passionate and it shows through every verse. His style of rapping and just about everything else I love about him. I don’t think I ever heard one bad song of his…which is rare for me.

“No one man should have all that power
The clock’s tickin’, I just count the hours
Stop trippin’, I’m trippin’ off the power
‘Til then, f-ck that, the World’s ours.”

I think the song is speaking about the world in general and how people get on power trips and feel they can control/determine another humans life or make any type of changes to their life.  He’s saying we all have the power to determine our own path and do whatever we want…but when you let that power turn into greed and think your better than someone else is when you cross the line, use all that power for your own benefit not to interfere with someone elses.

“F-ck SNL and the whole cast
Tell ‘em Yeezy said they can kiss my whole ass
More specifically, they can kiss my asshole
I’m an asshole? You n-ggas got jokes.
You short-minded n-ggas’ thoughts is Napoleon
Now I embody every characteristic of the egotistic
He know, he so, f-ckin’ gifted
I just needed time alone, with my own thoughts
Got treasures in my mind but couldn’t open up my own vault
My childlike creativity, purity and honesty
Is honestly being prodded by these grown thoughts
Reality is catchin’ up with me
Takin’ my inner child, I’m fighting for it, custody’

Pretty much self-explanatory, he’s telling everyone to kiss his ass after all the jokes they made about him this past year with what happened between him and Taylor Swift. He realizes that he was getting out of control and address that he needed time out from his the ego manic he was becoming, that was a cover up to hide his feelings and what he was going through inside. Which I’m sure is about his late Mother and dealing with her death. But he was fighting with himself to go through the emotions, so he let the power he had to take over. Power meaning being rich and famous and doing whatever he can and buying whatever he wants.

” Now this would be a beautiful death
Jumpin’ out the window
Lettin’ everything go
Lettin’ everything go.”

Letting everything go from the past and starting fresh.

“You got the power to let power go”

Leave a Reply

