Poem of the Day

“The Right Man”

So many years have gone by
Always strong, tried not to cry
Never felt like I needed any man
To comfort me in life

But I’m all made up today
A veil upon my face
But no father stands beside me
To give his bride away

Well I’m standing in the chapel
Wearing my white dress
I have waited for this moment
With tears of happiness
Here I leave behind my past
By taking the chance
I’ve finally found the right man

Thoughts racing fast through my mind
As I’m gazing down the aisle
That my future will mend the memories
Torn between father and child

My emotions overload
‘Cause there is no hand to hold
There’s no shoulder here to lean on
I’m walking all on my own

Now I’m standing at four corners
To have and to hold
Now my love, you stand beside me
To walk life’s winding road
And I owe it all to you
For taking the chance
You’ve shown me there’s a right man
‘Cause I never knew a right man

Well I’m standing in the chapel
Ready to confess
That I’ve waited for this moment
With tears of happiness
Now I leave behind my past
By taking the chance

Well I’m standing at four corners
To have and to hold
Now my love, you stand beside me
To walk life’s winding road
And I owe it all to you
For taking the chance

And one day my little girl
Will reach out her hand
She’ll know I found the right man

It’s a song by Christina Aguilera from her Back to Basics album, not really a published poem but songs are poetry. I can’t describe to you how I felt upon hearing this song. It gave me butterflies. I am a girl who have had dreams about her wedding, and still do. I have envisioned it many times in my dreams. I am captivated by the fairy tale and the fact that after that special day a new chapter in your life awaits you and that you are making a life long commitment with another person. I know I am not going to have a father walk me down the aisle, when that day comes I’ll be walking on my own. But I’ll be walking towards a man who will be more than the right man for me. He will be the first man in my life, I will listen to him like a daughter does a father, I will idolize him like a child does to a parent and most of all I will love him and he will love me back. The best of all is that he will protect me and he will give me a family I have always wanted.

I am scared of marriage because of my parents divorce. I don’t know how a man loves a women or even how a women loves a man. I never witnessed love. But I still want it. I want to take that chance on love. I have to believe that there is someone out there for me and vice versa. I have to have hope that a marriage will last, a family will be united and a happy ending is possible.

This song means a lot to me. I replay it over and over, with tears of sadness and also tears of hope that one day I will know what a man is and have the right man for me and my future daughter.

Leave a Reply

