Artist & Song of the week

It’s only right to do a post about the late and legendary Michael Jackson. Today marks one year since his passing, time flew. I think everyone remembers where they were when they found out he passed. I was with my cousins that all flew to NYC from South Carolina and California for a cousin’s wedding. It was in the morning and we were all just hanging out and I was on TMZ and saw that Farrah Fawcet had died, I told everyone.

A few hours later, I was on my phone and I saw a BBM status that wrote ‘RIP Michael Jackson’.  I told everyone again, I was the barrier of bad news that day!  I told my cousins again of another passing and they didn’t believe me so we put on the news and it was everywhere.  It was crazy, the fans crying and screaming, his music started being played everywhere.

Growing up I was listening to Spice Girls, Backstreet Boys, Shania Twain and Celine Dion and later on Britney Spears and NSYNC. I obviously always knew of Michael Jackson but I was to young to understand the magnitude of his success. I remember in every interview I would listen to or read about all my favorite singers, they would thank Michael for inspiring them. As I got older, I started to listen to his music and loved it. Seeing all the old footage and hearing about his impact in music and mostly all the musicians we listen to today, is just amazing.

My mom told me that when Thriller came out, it was the biggest thing in music and of the year. She told me how she waited on line to get the record and how everywhere you went there were people dressed like him. Seems like no one can ever achieve what he has. There will never be another artist and an entertainer like him.

It’s a shame how he left the world. He left misunderstood and it took for his passing for people to stop making fun of him and remember his impact on music. He was brave, he was strong, he was a fighter. He wasn’t just a musician or a song writer, he gave the word ‘entertainer’ a meaning.

“If you enter this world knowing you are loved and you leave this world knowing the same, then everything that happens in between can be dealt with.” – MJ

I have a lot of favorite songs but top three are:

The Way You Make Me Feel , Will You Be There and You Are Not A lone.

Leave a Reply

