Artist & Song of the Week

Right now I’m really liking Drake. At first, I didn’t pay attention to him because I felt as though he was over exposed with little music out. So I didn’t get it. But ‘Best I Ever Had’ won me over. I really like his flow, the way he raps and he is just a natural. He reminds me A LOT of my two favorite rappers Kanye West and Eminem. They have a way of expressing their emotions, in a real, raw, deep and poetic ways. I love to read lyrics, and I like to read and listen to music that makes sense to me, that I can connect to. It’s not about the one liners that Lil Wayne is good at, it’s about the reaction you get to a certain verse that makes sense to you, it’s about the message of the song not just about it making you dance. All three of the rappers share their emotions in a touching way and yet also make music that make you groove. I love that they manage to do both. For example, Jay Z is considered the best rapper alive..I get it. But most of his music doesn’t speak to me, but it will generally speak to men. West, Eminem and Drake’s music touches anyone and everyone – whether it be a 20 year old white girl, a 16 year old teenage boy that follows hip hop and rap or a grown man. T.I did it best with his song ‘No Matter What.’ I just love story telling in music. And in my opinion, Eminem is the best rapper alive.

I read all the lyrics to his album, ‘Thank Me Later’ and I love what I’ve read and heard. He is a great lyricist. I get what he saying and the purpose of his songs. They are his heartfelt and deep thoughts and is expressing it amazingly.

“How many of our parents’ marriages lasted?
I was only 5, I bet I barely reacted
I’m flying back home for the heritage classic
Searching for that feeling, tell me where is the magic?
Let’s stay together ’til we’re ghosts
I want to witness love, I’ve never seen it close
Yeah, but I guess I gotta find it first, that’s why I’m really going off.”

…I really love this verse! This won’t be the last time I feature songs his album!

Leave a Reply

