Miss USA

Miss Michigan Rima Fakih is of Lebanese decent and made history by winning the title of Miss Michigan and made even bigger history by winning Miss USA!! This is huge!! Being Lebanese myself, I am full of pride and hope that this can only mean change for the better on how Americans view the Middle East. We are all human, we are all the same regardless of religion, race and politics.

“Honestly, It feels great! I have never been afraid to say who I am and where I come from, and this is where it has gotten me,” Rima said of being the first Arab American to receive the Miss Michigan crown. “I’m glad I could prove it to myself and to others that this achievement is possible.”

“I think it would prove that Arabs don’t always try to separate themselves, but instead are integrated into American culture. It would show the world that yes, there are Arabs that are beautiful not only in looks, but also on the inside. There are Arabs that are caring, that are good people, and who love the country they live in. I think it would make the Arab image a more positive one.”

Leave a Reply

