Artist & Song of the week…

This week goes to Coldpay. I am not really a fan of theirs because I don’t follow their music so I only hear of them on the radio. I was watching American Idol – my first time watching it since it began when Kelly Clarkson won! I tuned in this season because my favorite talk show host Ellen Degeneres is the new judge and the worlds favorite brutally honest judge Simon Cowell’s last season. The show won’t be the same without him and I won’t be tuning in after this season. Anyone else who will come in will try to be like Simon with his humor and honesty. – Anyway, I was watching Idol and one of the female contestants sang this song and I loved the lyrics and I looked it up because obviously the band would sing it a lot better and they sure do!

It’s “The Scientist”:

The song is about lost love and the hardships you go through during the end of the relationship. He doesn’t understand why his girlfriend broke up with him so he tries to analyze what went wrong and how he can make it better.

‘I had to find you to tell you I need you, tell you I’ve set you apart. Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions. Oh, let’s go back to the start running in circles coming up tails heads on the science apart, nobody said it was easy. It’s such a shame for us to part nobody said it was easy, no one ever said it would be this hard.’

– It’s about  feeling guilty for doing something wrong and how you wanna let the person know that you love them and asking for forgiveness. How you want to get to know the person all over again and for them the same and how you wish you could go back to the start to do again because now it’s too late because the person is now leaving.

‘I was just guessing at numbers and figures pulling the puzzles apart. Questions of science. Science and progress, do not speak as loud as my heart.’

– When relationships fail to succeed and the person has no idea why it didn’t work. They’ll pull away at all the puzzle pieces, try to analyze everything, but when it comes down to it, love can’t be explained.

‘Oh tell me you love me come back and haunt me. Oh and I rush to the start. Running in circles, chasing our tails coming back as we are. I am going back to the start’

He is saying that he wants take things back to the very begining of the relationship when everything was okay.

My interpretation is that whoever was involved in the relationship has a scientific approach to the relationship, not in terms of maths or actual science but that mindset which is based on being able to work things out rather than just feel. So I believe the song is talking about a guy whose had this approach to the relationship and then finally wakes up and realises his mistake, and begins to realise that a relationship and the feelings that come with that relationship cannot necessarily be catorgized or worked out logically. So I think its kind of like this transformation or realisation he’s having, where he goes back to the beginning and wants to start again not making the same mistakes as before, because he realises his need for her or the fact that he is in love with her and comes back to those basics instead of a complex scientific outlook to love.

A description about the song in the making of the video is “This song is about a scientist who is so caught up in his work that he neglects his girlfriend, but realizes it eventually and wants to “go back to the start” and begin fresh.” I was close!

3 thoughts on “Artist & Song of the week…

  1. Music is something that is beyond human characteristic likings and dislikings. It is liked by every one though its genre can be different. Some may like the classical music style or to some hip hop and rock style would be worth making a choice. Besides these there are several genres & different artist are available.

Leave a Reply

