Artist & Song of The Week

Eminem is by far the greatest rapper ever lived and still living and will be for generations to come. I don’t think there will be anybody better. His music isn’t about money, degrading women and talking about their bodies nor is it about the cars, the bling and everything that is superficial. You don’t see him in the clubs with other rappers parading around with money and bragging about how successful he is.

His music real. You feel his emotions and you can relate to his pain. He is a story-teller in his music and you just listen to him speaking to you about what he has gone through and how he feels and can’t help but cry…at least that’s what happens to me.

I have so many favorite songs of his that I listen to when I am feeling down, when I feel like having someone understand my emotions. But there is one song that speaks to me in different levels. It makes me cry every time I hear it because the words connect to me. It is ‘Beautiful’ by his latest album Relapse.

The song is about Eminem reflecting about his past and how his life spiraled over the past few years. It’s about how he went through his lowest phases in his life and finally getting out of it.

“I think I’m starting to lose my sense of humor everything is so tense and gloom I almost feel like I gotta check the temperature in the room. Just as soon as I walk in, it’s like all eyes on me. So I try to avoid any eye contact
’cause if I do that then it opens a door to conversation like I want that.”

He is feeling depressed, nothing seems to be funny and he can’t connect to anything or anybody any more. Whenever he walks into a room he feels like every one is looking at him and they see how he is destructive to himself. But he doesn’t feel like he can trust any one so he stays quiet and deal with it all on his own.

“I just want to be just like you blend in with the rest of the room, maybe just point me to the closest restroom I don’t need no fucking man servant trying to follow me around, and wipe my ass laugh at every single joke I crack and half of them ain’t even funny like Ah Marshall, you’re so funny man, you should be a comedian, god damn. Unfortunately I am, but I just hide behind the tears of a clown..”

He doesn’t allow his celebrity to define him. He wants to be treated normal, blend in with everyone else. He no longer wants to  surround with enablers that kiss his ass all the time. He wants people to be real around him. People take what he says as comedy, not seeing the truth.

Nobody asked for life to deal us with these bullshit hands we’re dealt we have to take these cards ourselves and flip them, don’t expect no help. Now I could have either just sat on my ass and pissed and moaned but take this situation in which I’m placed in and get up and get my own”

We are born to what we are born into, we can’t change it. We can’t control our life and what happens to us. We can control our reaction and how we deal with things. Instead of moaning and complaining about our problems we need to pick ourselves up and stand on our own.

“I was never the type of kid to wait by the door and pack his bags never sat on the porch and hoped and prayed for a dad to show up who never did.”

This part is what I connect to the  most. I don’t need to elaborate and get too personal. But basically he is just saying he accepted how life is, he isn’t trying to figure it out. His dad wasn’t in his life and he just accepted that this is how his life is so why make it worse and wait for him to show up in his life.

“But don’t let ’em say you ain’t beautiful, they can all get fucked just stay true to you so. Don’t let ’em say you ain’t beautiful.”

Don’t ever let anybody knock you down, make you believe that you are the person they are making you out to be. You are beautiful no matter what and you should always stay true to yourself.

One thought on “Artist & Song of The Week

Leave a Reply

