Marilyn Monroe. A True Icon.

Marilyn Monroe. When I see girls my age or older idolizing Monroe I never understood it because they know nothing about her. They didn’t grow up in her era. So how do you idolize someone you just see in pictures and read about? I Googled her pictures and I must say…she is a beauty. She defiantly was an icon and a true icon lives on for generations. I looked up her quotes and loved a lot of what she has said. So instead of choosing one, I’m going to include a bunch of my favorites.

“I restore myself when I’m alone.”

“No one ever told me I was pretty when I was a little girl. All little girls should be told they’re pretty, even if they aren’t.”

“I’m pretty, but I’m not beautiful. I sin, but I’m not the devil. I’m good, but I’m not an angel.”

“The nicest thing for me is sleep, then at least I can dream”

“It’s better to be unhappy alone than unhappy with someone.”

“Dogs never bite me. Just humans.”

“People had a habit of looking at me as if I were some kind of mirror instead of a person. They didn’t see me, they saw their own lewd thoughts, then they white-masked themselves by calling me the lewd one.”

“The truth is I’ve never fooled anyone. I’ve let people fool themselves. They didn’t bother to find out who and what I was. Instead they would invent a character for me. I wouldn’t argue with them. They were obviously loving somebody I wasn’t.”

One thought on “Marilyn Monroe. A True Icon.

Leave a Reply

