Artist & Song of the Week

aliciajohn

Song of the week goes to “Lesson Learned” by Alicia Keys featuring John Mayer from Key’s latest album “I Am”

It is such a beautiful song that is telling a story that you can relate to.

It’s about coming to terms with the end of a very important relationship. She was in a relationship for a long period of time, one she thought would never come to an end. But despite her efforts to keep the relationship together things just ultimately fell apart. Consistently she gave the other a try- yet it seems she was the only one taking the relationship seriously. Then she comes to terms with the fact that it wasn’t meant to be and that she could just take the experience as a lesson that she could use in future relationships. When she says “I’m at your door, I feel so crazy about it.You say, “I told you so.” You saw it long ago, you knew he had to go. I finally came around”…It means she went to a friend for comfort, the friend has been telling her that they sensed that the person was not the one for her and that it had been building up to the point of falling apart. The line about it “raining”, symbolizes her crying rather than rain it self. John Mayer’s line “its alright” repeated symbolizes her telling herself and others telling her that it would be okay and she could over come the obstacle of a broken heart.

My favorite part is when she says “Life perfect ain’t perfect if you don’t know what the struggle’s fore.
Falling down ain’t falling down if you don’t cry when you hit the floor.
It’s called the past, cause I’m getting past and I ain’t nothing like I was before. You ought to see me now.”

What do you guys think? I am sure we can all relate to this song.

Leave a Reply

