Artist & Song of the Week

This weeks Artist, song & video of the week goes to Jessica Simpson.

jessica-simpson

I chose ‘Let him Fly’ from her 2007 ‘A Public Affair’ album. The song is a cover from singer Patty Griffin. Jessica said it helped her through her breakup. “I cried for hours listening to that song over again and when it came time to do my album, I had to add it on their. It would not have been real and letting you know how I feel, if I didn’t sing it. I felt such an emotional connection to this song, it was exactly what I was feeling when I was going through a dark time in my life.”

The song ‘Let Him Fly’, is basically about her getting over ex-husband Nick Lachey. She realizes that she can’t talk to him anymore, there is no use and it has become useless trying to get him to understand her. That’s why she says “ain’t no talking to this man” because she can’t talk to him, he doesn’t get what she is trying to say and it’s to late because she is loosing love for him. The song also pretty much talks about how she did all she could to make things work, and how she tried to make their relationship better by being on the same page but she realizes it’s time to let go, shes “letting him fly”.

When she says “Ain’t no way to understand the stupid words of pride, it would take an acrobat but I already tried all that,” she is portraying that there is no way to understand what he is doing to her, or where he is coming from, there is no way for them to connect anymore because it would take an “acrobat” or something else besides herself to do it. So during the time she tried to save their marriage by reconnecting, their life line that connected them together has broke, so it’s time to let go of the love they shared.

This is a beautiful song. It helped me through a break-up as well and I realized that no matter how much I may want him back, I need to let him fly because there’s nothing else I can do. It takes two people to stay connected with each other and when one isn’t doing the work there’s not much the other person can do. You can’t be where your not happy and hurting, if it isn’t healthy for you to stay..then just let go. There is beauty in letting go. My favorite is “you always know how long to stay and when to go”

She did a special on MTV promoting her album ‘A Public Affair’ in 2007. She performed this song for the first time and it gives me goose bumps and makes me cry every single time I watch it. Check it out for yourself.

182515__nickjess_l Now that Jessica and Nick have both parted ways with their partners, you think they will get back together? I sure hope so. I loved newlyweds and I loved them together but not so much separately. I think that’ because we all loved them so much together; we went inside their homes every Monday night and we all wanted their love, so when they split we resented them for that.

jessica2 But, she was with him when she was just 18 years old and married at 22. It was young love and she missed out on the world and learning about herself. I don’t think she got to know and love herself before she loved and committed her life to another.

Also, after newlyweds aired their careers hit off. She became more famous and the money kept pouring in, he wanted a family and she wanted the expanding career. They lost track, it’s a shame how money and fame gets in the way..

Since her marriage she has publicly gone through other breaks ups with John Mayer and recently Tony Romo. I feel bad for her, she is a beautiful person and just wants to be in love and be loved back and is dealing with media scrutiny, that can’t seem to leave her alone. She lost herself and lost a lot along the way.

637_1

Personally, I think its going to be hard for her to find someone other than Nick, he loved her flaws and all, excepted her the way she is. They were together through it all, they basically grew up together and in my opinion, that’s going to be hard to find again. Especially now that her younger sister is married with a child…it has to be hard. She is going to keep going through relationships that won’t seem to work because she is trying to find the type of love that she had, a love that Nick gave with all his heart but just wasn’t enough. Hopefully she can find what she is looking for and love herself enough to look for someone to love her just as much.

Nick was recently asked about what he thinks of a reconciliation, he said “I think it’s fun storytelling, but there’s very little truth to any of it. I certainly have heard about her breakup and I wish her the best, as I’ve always done. Aside from that, there really is nothing to say,” says Lachey. “I haven’t talked to her in probably two years. I wish her happiness. That’s where it pretty much ends.”

Also check out “I belong to Me”. I am going to do another post of her music in her latest album, so make sure you check out for that. What do you guys think? Let me know.

PS.
She is NOT FAT! Never was and isn’t now. That’s another post I will be talking about, I am working on the topic of weight for a while now, I want it to be insightful, helpful and touching.

XOXO
Damita Ro

One thought on “Artist & Song of the Week

Leave a Reply

