I Can’t Hate You Anymore…

nick_lachey14

I usually don’t post song of the week twice in one week but about my post about Jessica Simpson’s song today, I found myself talking about her and Nick Lachey. So, in light of that I figured since we are already on the topic of them both why not chose a favorite song of mine from Nick as well.

“I Can’t Hate You Anymore” is my all time favorite song. It has also helped me through a break up and helped me move on and put things in perspective. Its one of those songs that you cry from beginning to end because it connects to your heart.

Nick has said in an interview for VH1’s Behind The Music that he didn’t know why she filed for divorce, but some where along the line their marriage had become all about ‘business’. However he stated that despite of what happened, they were two people deeply in love and all that he ever wanted was to be a family man and that platinum albums and highly rated tv shows are nothing compared to that. He sounded genuinely hurt and even confused by the situation, and that the divorce was all her doing, and she had never said to him the reason for her decision. It was quite sad. He also mentions that in the song “and how could we quit something we never even tried, well you still cant tell me why”

The song was written beautifully, there is no flaw but if I had to choose what part really touched me, it would be, “Your not the person who you used to be, the one I want who wanted me and that’s a shame but there’s only so many tears that you can cry before it drains the light right from your eyes, and I can’t go on that way and so I’m letting of everything we were, it doesn’t mean it doesn’t hurt.”

I think Nick is a great guy. I loved watching Newlyweds because of how he was. The way he loved and treated her and how he used to look at her made you realize that this is how you want to be treated as well and how you hoped to find someone like him.

I cry when I hear the song..”We built it up to watch it fall like we meant nothing at all. I gave and gave the best of me but couldn’t give you what you need, you walked away. You stole my life just to find what you’re looking for but no matter how I tried I can’t hate you anymore…sometimes you hold so tight it slips right through your hands”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ooeA_Of3Gi8

What do you guys think? Also check out “What’s left of me” and “Resolution”.

XOXO
Damita Ro

One thought on “I Can’t Hate You Anymore…

Leave a Reply

